waco and the bags that hang there

“Raindrops on roses
And whiskers on kittens
Bright copper kettles and warm woolen mittens
Brown paper packages tied up with strings
These are a few of my favorite things”P1000770

In Waco, TX there is a bridge at the Waco Lake. A small portion of it has just begun to get covered with brightly covered bread bags after the locals have fed the ducks.  This simple act reminded me of this song. Something so small as a Sunday afternoon with a loved one on the bridge and a bag of bread can bring so much joy.  Many of the bags still had the 99 cent price tag hanging there. I can’t help but imagine a young couple walking down the bridge together before dinner throwing bread down to the ducks. I see a grandfather teaching his grandson how to tie the bread bag into a knot around the railing.

Nicholas and I drove 3 1/2 hours to get to Waco from San Antonio to visit the Magnolia Market. I love watching Fixer Upper on HGTV with Chip and Joanna Gaines.  We have been planning to take this trip for months! Joanna has a creative eye for repurposing pieces that would otherwise be seen as unuseful. I think it is wonderful that she is able to show that to the world.  Her shop was beautifully designed. Nick and I spent hours filming and perusing through the items. I loved all the food trucks outside! I am obsessed with food trucks! It was its own little town within the city.  My only disappointment is that there were not more items offered by local vendors. I do understand that with the high demand for merchandise this may be nearly impossible to accomplish. I read that they bring in some 15,000 people per week! P1000767

Still, spending time exploring the National Mammoth Monument and snapping photos at the local park was worth the drive alone. The simple things seem to make the sun shine a little brighter. I only wish I had a loaf of bread.

“When I’m feeling sad
I simply remember my favorite things
And then I don’t feel so bad”

Update: Bubble busted…. apparently it’s a Baylor student tradition to toss tortillas off the bridge aiming for some type of concrete marker. If they are caught doing this, they are made to take the bags down and the tortillas are very harmful to the ducks! Oh no!

P1000710P1000724

 

Leave a Reply

